Post-Trip Motorcylcle news

Posted: September 17, 2010 in Trans-Labrador

Ok so  beleive I have fixed the Motorcycle.

Turns out the Dealer had installed 10R12A Sparkplugs in my bike when I an supposed to have 10R12X Sparkplugs. Not much of a difference but when I changed them up for the correct ones, I also noticed some rust in my rear plug wire, so I changed my plug wires too.

In changing my plug wires I had to remove the entire Airbox and Air box base assembly which alloud me to discover another problem. My Main Engine Gound was loose. I tightened that up while I was there.

Inspecting my airbox I also noticed that I had a lot of spooge all over it…. further inspection revealed that my lower crankcase breatherhose was disconnected. Not a big issue but I would prefer to vent that spooge out the back instead of all over the inside of my airbox. I cleaned up the crud in my airbox using some electrical contact cleaner.

But in a new airfilter mine was filthy from dust and gravel.

Finally, I noticed some wear on my ECM connectors from rubbing on the bottom of my seat. Figured this wasn’t a good thing and so I bent the metal retension bracket down to lower the ECM a little to avoid the seat rubbing on it.

Not sure which fix the problem, probably a combination of all of the above, but anyhow Nomore engine problems! Yeah!

Leave a comment