Motorcycle problems

Posted: September 17, 2010 in Trans-Labrador

Had a hard time making it to Baie-Comeau, after the first 2 hours the Buell kept cutting, skipping, and losing power. Then sometimes it would miraculously comeback to life. We made pretty bad time and decided to stay in Baie-Comeau.

We were all rather smelly and a nice shower in a comfort inn was a welcomed luxury.

While at the hotel we took advantage of the internet to see if we could find a possible solution to my problems but we really didn’t find any solutions.

At Tadousac we drove to Chicoutimi on some of the best motorcycling roads we have in the Province. Twisty mountain road by the Sagunay river opening up onto the Fjord. Jeff took point and for a while my bike was even running well!! Great fun! We were really flying down the roads, and Jeff joked about how this road took all 650cc’s of his V-Strom, especially when going up some of those massive mountains. The Buell pulled like an ox with all 1203cc, barely affected by the steap mountain climbs;  it reminded me just how great this motorcycle is… when it works properly that is.

We took a breather to take some layers off seeing as it was pulling on 33C in Chicoutimi. I showed then the “little white house” that survived tha floods and we headed towards Alma, then La Tuque, and TroisRiviere.

The Next day my bike was ok for the first 2 hours then started acting up again. It did this all the way home to Montreal. At Trois-Riviere it was so bad I had the Throttle opened up ALL the way in 5th gear just to keep it at 120km/h!!! The engine was rattling something fierce and shaking like mad.

Finally I made it home around 10pm, with Martine waiting for me in tha Garage with the door opened and ready for me to just drive in! 🙂 Best welcome home I could ever have had given the hellish day I had had on the bike.

Leave a comment